Dosing and Administration

Prolia is taken twice a year by subcutaneous injection1

Dosing Considerations

Down arrow
Injection Infographic
Prolia packshot with syringe and card
Administration of Prolia is to only be performed by an adequately trained injector.
Please see the Product Monograph for complete dosing and administration information.
Storage and Injection

Prolia Dosing Considerations

No dose adjustment necessary in patients with renal impairment; however, adequate intake of calcium and vitamin D is important in patients with severe renal impairment or receiving dialysis. In clinical studies, patients with severe renal impairment (creatine clearance <30 mL/min) or receiving dialysis were at greater risk of developing hypocalcemia.1

Adequate intake of calcium and vitamin D is important in all Prolia patients.1

Pregnancy must be ruled out prior to administration of Prolia. Pregnancy testing should be preformed in all women of reproduction potential prior to Prolia administration. Based on findings in animals, PROLIA may cause fetal harm when administered to pregnant women.1

Pharmacodynamics of Prolia

Inhibition of bone remodeling is reversible upon discontinuation.1*

Patients treated with Prolia showed normal architecture and quality on histologic assessment and no evidence of mineralization defects, woven bone or marrow fibrosis.1

* Clinical significance has not been established.
Additional Resources
ProVital Icon
ProVital®

Find out more about the ProVital Patient Support Program

Multiple vertebral fractures Icon
Multiple vertebral fractures

Find out more about multiple vertebral fractures following discontinuation of Prolia treatment MVF following Prolia discontinuation.

Discontinuation
References

You are now leaving the Prolia.ca website.

The linked sites are not under the control of Amgen, and Amgen is not responsible for the content available on the linked sites. Such links do not imply Amgen's endorsement of material on any other site, and Amgen disclaims all liability with regard to your access to such linked websites. Amgen provides links to other Internet sites as a convenience to users, and access to such linked sites is at your own risk.

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Prolia.ca?

You are now leaving the Prolia.ca website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

Proceed

Posologie et administration

Prolia est administré deux fois par année par injection sous-cutanée1

Considérations posologiques

Down arrow
Injection Infographic
Prolia packshot avec seringue et carte
Prolia doit être administré par une personne ayant reçu une formation adéquate en techniques d’injection.
Veuillez consulter la monographie du produit pour connaître les renseignements complets sur la posologie et l’administration.
Entreposage et injection Arrow Image

Considérations posologiques relatives à Prolia

Aucun ajustement posologique n’est nécessaire en présence d’insuffisance rénale, mais un apport adéquat en calcium et en vitamine D est important chez les patients atteints d’insuffisance rénale grave ou sous dialyse. Au cours des études cliniques, les patients atteints d’insuffisance rénale grave (clairance de la créatinine < 30 mL/min) ou soumis à une dialyse étaient plus à risque d’hypocalcémie1.

Un apport adéquat en calcium et en vitamine D est important chez tous les patients1.

Il est essentiel d’écarter toute possibilité de grossesse avant l’administration de Prolia. Un test de grossesse doit être réalisé chez toutes les femmes aptes à procréer avant le début du traitement par Prolia. D’après les études menées sur des animaux, Prolia peut être nocif pour le fœtus lorsqu’il est administré à une femme enceinte1.

Profil pharmacodynamique de Prolia

L’inhibition du remodelage osseux est réversible à l’arrêt du traitement1*.

Les évaluations histologiques qualitatives ont révélé une architecture et une qualité normales et n’ont mis en évidence aucun signe d’anomalies de la minéralisation, d’os fibreux ou de fibrose médullaire chez les patientes traitées par Prolia1.

*La signification clinique de ces données comparatives n’a pas été établie.
Autres Ressources
ProVital<sup>MD</sup> Icon
ProVitalMD

Pour en savoir plus sur le programme de soutien ProVital

Fractures vertébrales multiples Icon
Fractures vertébrales multiples

Pour en savoir plus sur les fractures vertébrales multiples après l’arrêt du traitement par Prolia

Fractures vertébrales multiples après l’arrêt du traitement par ProliaArrow Image
References

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web Prolia.ca.

Amgen n’exerce aucun contrôle sur les sites référencés au moyen de liens, et Amgen n’est pas responsable du contenu de tout autre site Web lié. Ces liens ne supposent pas l’endossement d’Amgen du matériel sur quelque autre site que ce soit, et Amgen décline toute responsabilité à l’endroit de votre accès à de tels sites Web référencés au moyen de liens. Amgen fournit des liens vers d’autres sites Web à des fins de commodité pour l’utilisateur, et vous accédez aux autres sites Web référencés au moyen de liens à vos propres risques.

Voulez-vous vous rendre à nos autres sites externes et quitter le Prolia.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le Prolia.ca. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Continuer