Prolia Scientific Support

Prolia has been studied in close to 10,000 postmenopausal women enrolled in clinical trials of up to 10 years in duration (4,886 Prolia vs. 4,886 comparator arms).1

freedom study

Green arrow pointing down

FREEDOM Study

The FREEDOM (Fracture REduction Evaluation of Denosumab in Osteoporosis Every 6 Months) study is Prolia’s pivotal phase III, randomized, double-blind, controlled study completed of 7,808 postmenopausal women.1,2

The safety profile and efficacy of Prolia were evaluated in the FREEDOM trial and the results were published in the New England Journal of Medicine. FREEDOM’s primary endpoint was the incidence of new vertebral fracture over a period of 36 months. Secondary endpoints included the time to first nonvertebral fracture and time to first hip fracture.2

7,808 women between the ages of 60 and 91 years old with BMD T scores less than -2.5 and not less than -4.0 at the lumbar spine or total hip were enrolled in FREEDOM and randomized to receive either Prolia or placebo.1*

FREEDOM Trial Infographic

Key Findings

The key finding in the 3-year study was that patients taking Prolia had a significant reduction in the risk of new fracture at all measured sites (vertebral, hip, nonvertebral) compared with those taking placebo.

In the long-term, open-label extension, among 2,343 women who received Prolia in FREEDOM and continued on therapy (years 4 through 10 of Prolia treatment), 1,343 (57.3%) completed 10 years. Prolia treatment maintained a low incidence of new vertebral fractures in years 4 through 10 (7.0% had at least one new vertebral fracture).1

Spine Icon

New vertebral fractures

Prolia

placebo

Vertebral Fracture Chart
Hip Fracture Icon

Hip fractures

Prolia

placebo

Hip Fracture Chart
Nonvertebral Fracture Risk Reduction Icon

Non-vertebral fractures

Prolia

placebo

Nonvertebral Fracture Chart

In the long-term, open-label extension, Prolia treatment also continued to increase BMD from extension baseline at the lumbar spine (10.8%; n=1,264), total hip (3.4%; n=1,232), and femoral neck (3.8%; n=1,232) over years 4 through 10. Percent increase in BMD from the original FREEDOM study baseline (i.e. after 10 years of treatment) in the long-term group was 21.7% at the lumbar spine, 9.2% at the total hip, and 9.0% at the femoral neck.

Additional Resources

Freedom Icon
FREEDOM Clinical Trial

Access the FREEDOM clinical trial in the virtual library.

FREEDOM TrialArrow Image
References

You are now leaving the Prolia.ca website.

The linked sites are not under the control of Amgen, and Amgen is not responsible for the content available on the linked sites. Such links do not imply Amgen's endorsement of material on any other site, and Amgen disclaims all liability with regard to your access to such linked websites. Amgen provides links to other Internet sites as a convenience to users, and access to such linked sites is at your own risk.

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Prolia.ca?

You are now leaving the Prolia.ca website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

Proceed

Soutien scientifique de Prolia

Prolia a été étudié chez près de 10 000 femmes ménopausées inscrites à des essais cliniques d’une durée allant jusqu’à 10 ans (4 886 traitées par Prolia vs 4 886 ayant reçu un agent de comparaison)1.

ÉTUDE FREEDOM

Green arrow pointing down

FREEDOM

L’étude pivot de Prolia, FREEDOM (Fracture REduction Evaluation of Denosumab in Osteoporosis Every 6 Months) est une étude de phase III, contrôlée, à répartition aléatoire et à double insu, menée à terme auprès de 7 808 femmes ménopausées1,2.

Le profil d’innocuité et l’efficacité de Prolia ont été évaluées lors de l’étude FREEDOM et les résultats ont été publiés dans le New England Journal of Medicine. Le principal critère d’évaluation de l’étude FREEDOM était la fréquence de nouvelles fractures vertébrales pendant une période de 36 mois. Les critères d’évaluation secondaires comprenaient le temps écoulé avant la première fracture non vertébrale et le temps écoulé avant la première fracture de la hanche2.

Un total de 7 808 femmes âgées de 60 à 91 ans et présentant un score T de la DMO de la colonne lombaire ou de la hanche totale se situant entre -2,5 et -4,0 ont été admises à l’étude FREEDOM et assignées au hasard pour recevoir Prolia ou un placebo1*.

FREEDOM Trial Infographic

Principaux résultats

Le principal constat de cette étude d’une durée de 3 ans est que les patientes recevant Prolia ont présenté une réduction significative du risque de nouvelles fractures à tous les sites évalués (fractures vertébrales, fractures de la hanche, fractures non vertébrales) comparativement aux patientes recevant un placebo.

Dans la phase de prolongation ouverte à long terme de l’étude FREEDOM, parmi les 2 343 femmes qui avaient reçu Prolia dans l’étude FREEDOM et qui ont poursuivi le traitement (années 4 à 10 de traitement par Prolia), 1 343 (57,3 %) ont atteint la fin de la dixième année. L’incidence de nouvelles fractures vertébrales chez les patientes recevant Prolia est demeurée faible de la 4e à la 10e année (7,0 % des femmes ont présenté au moins une nouvelle fracture vertébrale)1.

Spine Icon

Nouvelles fractures vertébrales

Prolia

placebo

Vertebral Fracture Chart
Hip Fracture Icon

Fractures de la hanche

Prolia

placebo

Hip Fracture Chart
Nonvertebral Fracture Risk Reduction Icon

Fractures non vertébrales

Prolia

placebo

Nonvertebral Fracture Chart

Durant la période de prolongation ouverte à long terme, le traitement par Prolia a également continué d’augmenter la DMO de la colonne lombaire (10,8 %; n = 1 264), de la hanche totale (3,4 %; n = 1 232) et du col du fémur (3,8 %; n = 1 232) de la 4e à la 10e année par rapport aux valeurs initiales de la phase de prolongation de l’étude. Le pourcentage d’augmentation de la DMO par rapport aux valeurs initiales de l’étude FREEDOM d’origine (c.-à-d. après 10 ans de traitement) dans le groupe de traitement à long terme était de 21,7 % pour la colonne lombaire, de 9,2 % pour la hanche totale et de 9,0 % pour le col du fémur.

Autres ressources

Freedom Icon
Étude clinique FREEDOM

Pour accéder à l’étude FREEDOM dans la bibliothèque virtuelle Prolia.ca

FREEDOM TrialArrow Image
References

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web Prolia.ca.

Amgen n’exerce aucun contrôle sur les sites référencés au moyen de liens, et Amgen n’est pas responsable du contenu de tout autre site Web lié. Ces liens ne supposent pas l’endossement d’Amgen du matériel sur quelque autre site que ce soit, et Amgen décline toute responsabilité à l’endroit de votre accès à de tels sites Web référencés au moyen de liens. Amgen fournit des liens vers d’autres sites Web à des fins de commodité pour l’utilisateur, et vous accédez aux autres sites Web référencés au moyen de liens à vos propres risques.

Voulez-vous vous rendre à nos autres sites externes et quitter le Prolia.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le Prolia.ca. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Continuer